Regional Festival Results - Festival 50 - 2018

Faculty Awards
ATHE/KCACTF Innovative Teaching Award
Tracy Liz Miller, Chandler Gilbert Community College

J.R. Luker, California State University, Fullerton

Excellence in Theatre Education Award
Joel Veenstra, University of California, Irvine

Taurie Kinoshita, Windward Community College

Gold Medallion
Bob Nelson, University of Utah

Catherine Zublin, Weber State University

Evening of Invited Scenes
Vanya, Sonia, Masha, Spike by Christopher Durang, University of Guam

Red Scare on Sunset by Charles Busch, California State University, Fullerton

Traditional Folk Tales, Eastern Arizona College

Gaslight by Patrick Hamilton, California State University, Northridge

Almost, Maine by John Cariani, MiraCosta College

Our Country’s Good by Timberlake Wertenbaker, Loyola Marymount University

Top Girls by Caryl Churchill, Mount San Antonio College

Still Life with Iris by Steven Dietz, Concordia University, Irvine

Promise by Jose Rivera, California State University, Dominguez Hills

Invited Productions
Where Words Once Were by Finegan Kruckemeyer directed by Tracy Callahan, Weber State University

The Government Inspector by Nikolai Gogol adapted by Theatre Movement Bazaar directed by Tina Kronis, Los Angeles City College

Man of La Mancha by Mitch Leigh, Joe Darion and Dale Wasserman directed by bree valle, Cuesta College

Eclipsed by Danai Gurira directed by Stephanie Weeks, Universtity of Utah

Story Theatre by Paul Sills directed by Kevin Dressler, Mesa Community College

Intimate Apparel by Lynn Nottage directed by Linda Bisesti-Reidy, California Polytechnic University, Pomona

ASPIRE Arts Leadership Program Award
Eliza Franklin-Edmondson, Los Angeles Southwest College

Devised Performance Awards
The Threat by Los Angeles Southwest College, Outstanding Ensemble Work

The Iceberg by College of the Sequoias, Most Compelling and Strongest Connection to the Prompt

SDC Directing Program Award
Abel Marquez, Citrus College (National Finalist)

Bradly Valenzuela, California State University, Fullerton (Honorable Mention)

LMDA Dramaturgy Award
Gunner Joachim, Whittier College (National Finalist)

Richelle Sutton, Brigham Young University (Honorable Mention)

Miguel Lopez, Mesa Community College (Program Note Award)

ITJA Criticism Award
Adam Cardenas, Scottsdale Community College (National Finalist)

National Playwriting Program
Regional Finalists Forwarded for National Festival Consideration:

One Act Plays
Ellis: An Immigrant’s Tale by Matthew Katterhagen, California State University, Fullerton

Be Loved by Maricar Macario, University of California, Riverside

Ten Minute Plays
Wine Night by Rhiannon Houch, Lesley University

The Moment After by Michael John McGoldrick, Arizona State University

Planet Earth Award
You Did This 
by Josie Basford, Glendale Community College, California

Outstanding Original Monologue
Under The Knife by Deirdre Nickel, Utah Valley University

Region 8 NPP Awards
Jeremy Lewis, California State University, Fullerton, Ellis: An Immigrant’s Tale,Director Who Best Served A Play In Development (One-Act)

George Nelson, Brigham Young University, The Moment After, Director Who Best Served A Play In Development (10-Minute)

Travis Blansit, California State University, Stanislaus, Outstanding Stage Management in Service of NPP

NPP Actor Awards
Outstanding Actor in an NPP Play:
Benjamin White, Santa Monica College, The Moment After

Veronica La, Las Positas Community College, Wine Night

Ali Castro, Eastern Arizona College, Under The Knife

Isobel Beaman, California State, Fullerton , Ellis: An Immigrant’s Tale

Performance Awards
Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship Auditions
Bradley Mackay, Brigham Young University, Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship Audition, Region 8 National Finalist

Jisel Ayon, California State University, Northridge, Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship Audition, Region 8 National Finalist Alternate

Dylan Kawalec, MiraCosta College, Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship Audition, Region 8 Outstanding Partner

Sawyer Henderson, MiraCosta College, Voice and Speech Trainers Association Award

Chelsea Mortensen, Brigham Young University, National Partners of the American Theatre Classical Acting Award

Musical Theatre Initiative
Dominc Grijalva, College of the Sequioas, Musical Theatre Initiative Award, National Finalist

Kaitlyn Hipwell, Weber State University, Musical Theatre Initiative Award, Alternate

Dominc Grijalva, College of the Sequioas, Open Jar Institute Scholarship

Design, Technology, and Management Awards
Scenic Finalists
Andrea Tinoco – Blood Wedding (National)

Dwight Camillucci – Sideways Stories  (Honorable Mention)

Madeline Ashton – Once in the Time of Trolls (Finalist)

Keeli Rodriguez – Tartuffe (Finalist)

Harrison Hayes – Of Mice and Men (Finalist)

Costume Finalists
Jillian Ross – Freddy  (National)

Sara Shouse – Sideways Stories  (Honorable Mention)

Chris Lancaster – A Year with Frog and Toad (Finalist)

Carolyn Urban – Once in the Time of Trolls (Finalist)

Ally Thieme – Awake and Sing (Finalist)

Lighting Finalists
Susan Kupferer – The Mill on the Floss (National)

Nathaniel Singer – Scorched C10 (Honorable Mention)

Daniel Garner – We Foxes (Finalist)

Sierra Holly – Wellesley Girl  (Finalist)

Sammy Siuyee Siu – Intimate Apparel (Finalist)

Sound Finalists
Matthew Brown – Wellesley Girl  (National)

Kristin Tenney – Into the Woods (Honorable Mention)

Tiana Mason – A Christmas Carol  (Finalist)

Allied Finalists
Hair and Makeup
Tu Nguyen – Eurydice  (National will showcase at USITT)

Sara Matin – William Shakespeare’s Land of the Dead  (Honorable Mention)

Trustin Adams – Tartuffe (Finalist)

Sarah Bolt – Into the Woods (Finalist)

Sabrina Mitchell Reed – William Shakespeare’s Land of the Dead received The Society of Properties Artisan Managers (SPAM Award)

Kiri Malolo – Story Theatre (Honorable Mention)

Katherine Cordero – No Exit (Finalist)

MaryLou Montgomery – Eurydice (Finalist)

Tiffany Campbell – Where Words Once Were  (Honorable Mention)

Zackary Linne – A Christmas Carol (Finalist)

Amir Hatef and Geena Wong w/ Juan Pedro – A Christmas Carol (Finalist)

Technical Direction/Carpentry
J.R. Luker – The Wild Party  (Honorable Mention)

Stagecraft Awards
Don Childs Award and Scholarship for Collaboration Eurydice Design team
Omar Aguilar – Costumes
Mary Lou Montgomery – Props
Tu Nguyen – Hair and Makeup
Ambar Dominguez – Lighting
Aaron Roberts – Scenic
Louis Ponesse – Scenic

Scholarship to Stagecraft
Christopher Haro – Mt. San Antonio College for Inherit the Wind

Megan Johnson – Utah Valley University for Jumpers

Tiffany Campbell – Where Words Once Were

Matthew Brown – Wellesley Girl

Aimee Moore – Jumpers

Christiana Kuey – Intimate Apparel

Heart of the Art
Valerie Torres Costumes – A New Day

Robert Edmond Jones Legacy Award
Edgar Bustillo – The Metamorphosis

Stage Management
Megan Johnson, Utah Valley University (National Finalist)

Jessica Pineada, Citrus College (Honorable Mention)