Innovative Teaching Award

Each year, the eight KCACTF regions honor individuals or organizations that have made extraordinary contributions to the teaching and producing of theatre and who have significantly dedicated their time, artistry and enthusiasm to the development of the Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival. Most importantly, recipients have demonstrated a strong commitment to the values and goals of KCACTF and to excellence in educational theatre. It is the most prestigious regional award given by KCACTF and is considered one of the great honors in theatre education.


ATHE (Association for Theatre in Higher Education) and KCACTF have partnered to create the ATHE/KCACTF Prize for Innovative Teaching.  This prize will be awarded by an ATHE representative at each KCACTF region festival.

Nominees can come from any source, self-nominees included.  Nominees submit a CV, teaching philosophy, letter of recommendation, and one-page statement that describes how the nominee is innovative in regard to student success in the area of theatre arts.  

Winners receive a handsome plaque, ATHE membership waiver for one year, and conference fee waiver for one year.  The prize can be awarded to any teacher in the region and it is desirable that her or his affiliated institution be a KCACTF participating school.  Send nomination materials to the regional chair by November 1, 2018.

Coming soon…

2018 Tracy Liz Miller, Chandler Gilbert Community College (Faculty); Norman JR Luker, California State University, Fullerton (Graduate Student)

2017 Jennifer Kokai, Weber State University

2016 Troy McVey, University of Guam

2015 Stephanie Breinholt, Brigham Young University